Mississippi State Tax Information

Mississippi Minimum Wages
Effective 09/01/97Effective 07/24/07Effective 07/24/08Effective 07/24/09
Minimum Wage:$5.15$5.85$6.55*$7.25*
Min. Cash Wage:$2.13$2.13$2.13*$2.13*
Max. Tip Credit:$3.02$3.72$4.42*$5.12*
Youth Sub-Minimum Wage:$4.25$4.25$4.25*$4.25*
* Mississippi has no state minimum wage law. Federal minimum wage requirements apply.

Mississippi State Income Tax
Wage Withholding:Tables
Supplemental Wage/Bonus Rate:No provision

Mississippi Unemployment Insurance
Maximum 2020 Taxable Earnings:$14,000
(Unchanged from 2019)
Employee Deduction:None
Employer 2020 Tax Rates:0.20 - 5.60%
(Includes 0.20% workforce investment and training contribution rate)
Standard 2020 New Employer Rate:1.20 - 1.40%
(New employers pay 1.20% in the 1st year, 1.30% in the 2nd year & 1.40% in the 3rd year; rates include 0.20% workforce investment and training contribution rate)
Voluntary Contribution Permitted:No

Mississippi Disability Insurance
Employee Deduction:None

Mississippi State Agencies web sites: